Christmas movies – from a 55+ perspective

IMG_0250.jpg

I’ve had lots of time to watch sappy Christmas movies. Although I still enjoy them, I am just about off my junk-food for the brain diet.  Almost every single show had the same plot – A woman leaves her small, welcoming home town to head off to the big city for a career.  She either is single or in an unhappy relationship.  The inevitable moral is that she should be much happier at home – changing her career dreams to settle for what is available back in her home town. If she’s single, she’ll find the love of her life a few days before Christmas – and Voila – either she’s getting engaged on Christmas Day, or she’s getting married.  Recipe for a successful life, isn’t it. I guess I should be happy we’re seeing some greater equality in the Christmas shows of today.  In the past – it was usually the man who had the career – and the epiphany that he needed to be home with the little woman and the kids more often.  In the 21st century, the woman have become the failing protagonist.  A couple of shows actually allowed the woman to keep both her career and supportive lover.  But only after she went through an intense period of self-doubt and trauma.

What kind of message do we want to send to our youth through this programs?  That success usually means failure in your persona life?  That women (or men) should settle to find fulfillment? That only true family happiness can be found in our small towns and country-side – because, of course, there everyone welcomes you and accepts you for who you are.  Bah Humbug, I say. We all deserve better than the formulaic dime-a-dozen drivel available now.

Yet somehow I am still hooked on this trash. It’s like crack for the TV brain. Once I start, I can’t stop!  I am not yet sure why, but I know I’ll figure it out someday. In the meantime, I’ll just rant about the problems….

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑