North to Alaska…

I can’t believe I am finally doing it!  I am leaving “on a jet plane” tomorrow, July 14, for Whitehorse. Once there I will take the historic White Pass and Yukon Railway to Skagway, and travel toward the beginning of the infamous Chilkook Trail.  I will finally venture forth on an extended hike, staying 5 nights and 6 days on the trail.  I am a little nervous about packing. My pack is already feeling quite heavy, but I don’t know what I can omit.  I know from experience on the outdoor ed trips that I get very cold at night, so I need layers.  But, I also don’t want to over-pack.  Every ounce truly does make a difference.  I still have to pack my share of food and supplies.

Nevertheless, I am thrilled that I am finally going north. I have wanted to visit the Yukon since my early 20’s, when I really started to love my Canadian history.   I know I am only going to experience a tiny taste of the north, but it’s a start.   If this trip works out, maybe I can find another adventure a little further north or in the Yellowknife area next year.     Yahoo,…. here I go!

This photo, of the thousands of gold-seekers, to me is one of the most poignant pictures in Canadian history.  I have felt a strong sense of compassion for the thousands of unprepared dreamers who risked everything for the dream of gold and adventure.  This  picture represents the many stories I heard of the profiteers who made a fortune off these naive trekkers, selling them goods at unworldly prices, and tricking them into buying products they would never use.  These stories are what I remember most about the Chilkook Trail, or the Yukon Gold Rush Trail as I recall it being named.  In just a few short days I too will stand on the peak of the Golden Staircase.  I can hardly wait! check one more item off my bucket list!Image

One thought on “North to Alaska…

Add yours

  1. way to go con, follow your dream, enjoy the mossies, am proud of you. cant wait to see your pictures

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

