55 “Mini” grand adventures

Bonnie had a great idea – start a blog following us as we go through 55 adventures in our 55th year.  Well, how about we try for 55 mini-adventures?  For example, today is adventure number 2 – snowshoeing in my own backyard!

Adventure Number 1: Beauvis Lake

On Saturday January 5, we drove to Kev and Val’s cabin to join them ice-fishing and outdoor playing at Beauvis Lake.  We ice-fished on the lake. Mackenzie and Kevin caught 4 four.  I tried it, but it’s not my cup of tea.  It’s too slow. I don’t have the patience to stand over a hole, freezing my butt of waiting for a fish to maybe, maybe, maybe bit the hook!  Instead, I donned my skates and tried skating on the open lake. Now, I looked very much like an old lady, as I hadn’t been on my skates in over 5 years, and haven’t skated on a lake in – well, maybe never!  But who cares what I looked like. I loved it!  It was awesome to be skating free in the middle of the lake,. The cracks in the ice formed such interesting patterns. I have to admit it was a little eerie to be far out in the middle of the lake and suddenly hear the very strange sound of ice cracking and shifting. Here is just one pattern!  Image

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

