The Grand Adventure – What a trip!

I’ve been back from the SMS 2012 Grand European Adventure for just over 4 days now, but still feel like I am still there.  The trip was incredibly awesome!  David Genert said it best: “You feel like you’ve lived a year in only 7 days”.  How true!  The best part was watching the kids go through the trip, seeing their interest change from merely looking for fun, to engaging in the real atmosphere and intellectual culture of the regions.  I felt like they had changed within a week; that they had matured and took on new perspective that would forever change their lives.  Now, of course I know that by the end of today, their first day back at school, likely they will be back to normal. But for a few short days they become someone else.   And of course, I reveled in my time with Mackenzie. One day he and I had time to spend together at a couple of museums. He was in his absolute glory, and I loved just watching him absorb the spirit of the ancient Roman ruins.   Lots to tell, no time to talk.  It was indeed a grand adventure!

Leave a Reply

