Come Fly Away

The bags are packed, I’m ready to go.

I am (almost) standing by the door…

We’re leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again (well, I do know when we’re returning)

Leaving on a jet plane!

So, finally the time has arrived. Mackenzie and I fly out tomorrow with the high school Europe trip. What seemed like a distant possibility is now finally here.  I believe that I am more excited than many of the kids!  Yet all too soon I know it will be over.  After that, the Montreal band trip will come, followed by the Outdoor Ed field trip.  Then grad.  Then…. the rest is silence. 

I am definitely suffering from “pre-empty nest syndrome”.  I know most parents go through this stage, especially with only children. And I know that all will be fine.  Life will go on. Nevertheless, I’m still feeling a little strange.  Alas, I’ll have to console myself with, ummm, let me see – crepes in Paris, Jazz in Montreal, and rock climbing in the great outdoors. Sucks to be me!

Leave a Reply

